Original Club Bylaws -

Replaced 10/13/2020



Article I: Name

This Association shall be known as the Beekeepers of the Northern Shenandoah.

Article II:

Objectives The objectives of this Association shall be:

1.    To provide a forum for the continuing education and exchange of information

among beekeepers, and to promote cooperation between members to

advance beekeeping;

2.    To promote understanding of the role of bees and beekeeping among the community in general;

3.    To advocate and promote bees, honey, and other hive products within the community.


Article III: Membership

Anyone interested in bees and beekeeping may join this Association, and are considered members on payment of the annual dues.


Article IV: Officers

The officers of this Association shall consist of the President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer. These officers make up the Executive Committee.

1.    The officers shall be elected by majority vote when a quorum of members is present at the May meeting. Officers shall serve terms of one year.

2.     The President and Vice President may serve no more than two successive terms. However, they may be eligible for election after an interval of at least two years. The Secretary and Treasurer may be reelected without limitation, subject to their willingness to serve, and doing so to the satisfaction of the Association.

3.     The Vice President shall perform all the duties of the President in his/her absence or during the remainder of the term if there is a vacancy in the position.

4.     In the case of a vacancy in the positions of Vice President, Secretary or Treasurer, the President shall appoint a member to serve during the remainder of their term.

5.    Only paid members may serve as officers of the Association or as a delegate, chairman, or members of select committees.




Article V: Duties of Officers

1.    The President has the prime responsibility for the Association and the direction of its activities. The President shall preside at all meetings of the Association using regular parliamentary procedure and Robert's Rules of Order. The President shall appoint all Special Committees. The President shall be authorized to make deposits and disperse all monies only if the Treasurer is unable to perform these duties.

2.     The Vice President shall perform the duties of the President in his/her absence, or upon the President's request The Vice President shall act as chairman of the Programs Committee.

3.     The Secretary shall record the minutes and proceedings of the Association at each meeting and event These shall be filed and preserved. The Secretary shall also attend to the Association's correspondence unless directed otherwise by the President. The Secretary will notify members of meetings and other activities, and attend to the other duties that naturally pertain to this office.

4.     The Treasurer shall receive and disperse all monies of the Association, and shall keep a complete and accurate record showing all receipts and disbursements. Disbursements other than routine in nature must be approved by the President or Vice President